TOKYO — Saturday is a day for the new mixed-gender events at the Olympics. Track will have a 4×400 mixed relay and swimming a 4×100 freestyle mixed relay. There will be a triathlon relay and team judo and trap shooting events.

The swimming lineup, starting at 10:30 a.m. Japan time, 9:30 p.m. Eastern Friday night, also includes Katie Ledecky in the 800 freestyle. She will face her nemesis, Ariarne Titmus of Australia, but this time at a distance that clearly favors Ledecky. There is also another chance for gold for Caeleb Dressel, in the 100 butterfly.

At the track, golds will also be awarded in men’s discus, and the women’s 100 meters, at 9:50 p.m. Tokyo time, 8:50 a.m. Eastern. Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, the Jamaican who won gold in 2008 and 2012 and bronze in 2016, will go for gold No. 3.

Also on the gold medal menu are women’s rugby sevens, men’s trampoline and the wind surfing events.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *